The curious case of the Cambridge Satchel Company bag

25 Jan

Green and navy

It takes Torontonians a while to embrace new trends and when they finally do, it feels like it is a little too late. At least that is how I see things. For instance, I had my hair ombred two years ago almost, and the other day my new hair dresser told me that the trend is long gone and that he’d been doing it since 2005. Jeez, I only got my ombre hairin 2011.

It never ceases to surprise me the shocked stares I get from people every time I wear my Cambridge Satchel Company bag. I mean, I get it, it is super bright, but the neon trend is nothing new either. Some girls stop me in the street to ask me where I got it. Some other make snarky remarks. I thought, given the attention that they got in the internet by many fashion bloggers, they were super popular. I was wrong.

You do get to see a fair share of those if you go downtown. And yeah, girls and boys are more adventurous there when it comes to clothing. But still, the majority is wearing super dooper expensive Louis Vuitton Speedy bags. WHY?????!!!!!!!! It boggles my mind that young girls, most likely students, would prefer to get into debt just to carry one of those over priced bags than a basic yet edgy Cambridge satchel. Not only they look like every other girl in the city, financially it does not make any sense.

While the CSC bags are not cheap, they are certainly affordable. Well, I guess the meaning of affordable will depend on individual’s perception, but you get my point, right?

I always have the feeling that Toronto is a little bit behind fashion-wise. And I guess this post is a prove of it. I am only talking about the trend more than two years after it started. But hey, those bags are cute, durable and practical (at least mine fits everything I need to carry) and (I hope) they are here to stay.

In Toronto, you can either get them at Holt Renfrew or at this cute store, where I got mine, called A2Zane, at Queen & Bathurst (http://a2zane.com/) where the selection is better.

Here are a few pics I found on the internet:

Neon Green

Red

Yellow

…and here is a pic W took of me while I was preggers with S, wearing my CSC bag.

IMG_0320

Have a great weekend!!!!

(images via chictopia.com, weheartit.com and cambridgesatchel.co.uk)

2 Responses to “The curious case of the Cambridge Satchel Company bag”

  1. daniellepretorius January 27, 2013 at 8:09 am #

    I’m in South Africa and this is the first time I have seen these bags- seriously I haven’t seen one – not even in sandton, the capital of “if London has it, I must have it”. I love them!

    • modelscantdance January 27, 2013 at 11:06 am #

      Danielle, get one NOW! You can order online, and even get it engraved with your name or whatever you want. There are three different sizes you can choose from and a million colors. The link is at the end of the post. Let me know if you do 😉

Leave a Reply

thesarahsstyleblog

"Fashions fade, style is eternal." — Yves Saint-Laurent

Splash Of Lemonade

About me,my lifestyle,fashion,photography and something more!

RFLX 5280

Style. Music. Art.

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

Iva's Fashion

A blog devoted to timeless fashion.

the eyes and the hands

A blog about fashion, beauty and home decor

LOLO MACY

FASHION, FUN, AND ALL THINGS CHIC!

극단칠꽃

chilkkot.com

Alice Liddell

rachel@aliceliddellblog.com

Blueberry Submarine

Nicole da Rosa

Your Style Journey

helping you explore fashion, beauty and fun on your style Journey

Runway Everywhere

Fashion, Style, and Beauty from the Street to the Runway and Everywhere in Between

Fashion For Lunch.

Buy the shoes. Buy the bag. Dine well.

The Newest Wrinkle

An Online Fashion Magazine

Frassy

Spontaneous Overflow of Fashion

